• From 7 Oct 2021, border measures for incoming travellers will be determined based on the travellers’ recent travel history in the last 14 days, instead of 21 days.
  • The Stay-Home Notice (SHN) for those who are currently serving 14 days will be reduced to 10 days, due to the shorter incubation period of the Delta variant.
  • Adjustments have been made to the classification of countries/region and their corresponding border measures.

Reviewing the length of the Stay-Home Notice duration from 14 to 10 days

Since June 2021, the Multi-Ministry Taskforce on COVID-19 had required travellers with recent travel history to Category III and IV countries/regions to serve a 14-day SHN to account for the maximum COVID-19 incubation period.

As the Delta variant has a shorter incubation period, the Taskforce will reduce the SHN period for travellers from 14 to 10 days.

1) From 7 October 2021, all travellers with travel history to Category III and IV countries/regions in the last 14 days immediately prior to arrival in Singapore (including being in Singapore prior to travel), will serve 10 days of SHN at dedicated SHN facilities

• To undergo a COVID-19 PCR test on-arrival and on Day 10, and self-administered ART tests on Days 3 and 7

• SHN will be ended as long as they have a negative result for their PCR test on Day 10

2) Travellers who stayed in Category III countries/regions in the 14 days immediately prior to arrival in Singapore (including being in Singapore prior to travel) and are fully vaccinated:

• May apply to serve their SHN at their place of residence (e.g. residential address) or at other suitable accommodation (e.g. hotels or serviced apartments), if they are occupying these accommodation:

o alone; or

o only with household members who are also vaccinated persons serving SHN with the same travel history and duration of SHN

• Unvaccinated travellers will still be required to undergo a 10-day SHN at dedicated facilities

3) Refund details will be worked out for travellers affected by these changes, and will be shared with them separately

Conditions for opting out of serving SHN in dedicated SHN facilities

Travellers who wish to opt out of serving SHN in dedicated facilities must receive approval and present the approval documents upon arrival in Singapore:

Travellers who are Singapore Citizens (SCs) or Permanent Residents (PRs)

Travellers who are not SCs/PRs and have travel history in Category III countries

  • May apply to opt out as part of the entry application process from 6 October 2021, 2359 hrs onwards

All travellers who successfully opt out must remain in their declared place of residence/accommodation at all times and must don an electronic monitoring device throughout their SHN period.

  • Action will be taken against those who breach their SHN requirements or make false declarations
  • Travellers must take private transport to their declared place of residence/accommodation, and are strictly prohibited from taking public transport, e.g. public bus/train or street-hailed taxis

Review of countries/regions categories

Based on the COVID-19 situation in various countries, here is the latest classification for each of the 4 categories, can be found on the SafeTravel website. These changes will be effective from 7 October 2021.

Travellers are advised to visit the website to check the latest border measures for their associated country or region; and be prepared to be subjected to the prevailing border measures upon entry.


Summary of Country/Region Classification for Recent 14-day travel history*

(for arrival from 6 October 2021, 2359 hours)

Category I

Category II

Category III

Category IV

Countries / Regions

Hong Kong, Macao, Mainland China and Taiwan

Australia, Brunei, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Spain and Sweden

Austria, Bahrain, Bhutan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Fiji, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Norway, Slovakia, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America


All other Countries/ Regions*

Border Measure^

On-Arrival Test

  1. Pre-Departure PCR Test within 48 hours


  2. On-Arrival PCR Test


  1. 7-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN) at declared place of accommodation (if criteria fulfilled; if not, then at dedicated SHN facility@)


  2. Day 7 SHN exit Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test
  1. 10-day SHN at dedicated SHN facility@@ or declared place of accommodation (if criteria fulfilled)


  1. 10-day SHN at dedicated SHN facility@@


  1. Day 3 and 7 Antigen-Rapid Test (ART) self-swab test#


  2. Day 10 SHN exit PCR test


For more information, please refer to MOH’s press release


^Countries/Regions may have vaccination-differentiated border measures. Please check the SafeTravel website for details.

@ The charges for 7-day SHN at dedicated SHN facility is $1,000.

@@ The charges for 10-day SHN at dedicated SHN facility is $1,450.

* 14-day travel history includes countries/regions whereby the traveller transits en route to Singapore, and also the time spent in Singapore by the traveller before embarking on the overseas travel (if any).

** All long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with travel or transit history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are still not allowed to enter Singapore, as per MOH’s press releases on 22 and 30 Apr 2021.

#Every traveller aged 3 and above (in the calendar year) who is serving SHN will have to pay $20 (inclusive of GST) for 2 ART kits. ART swabbing is required for travellers serving SHN at dedicated SHN facilities.

LTPHs with passes issued by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) may have to comply with additional requirements and measures.

Travellers who are not Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents or Long-Term Pass Holders, may enter Singapore for short-term visits only if they are arriving from Category I countries/regions (with travel histories in the past 14-days in these countries/regions and/or Singapore), unless if arrangements have been separately announced (e.g. Vaccinated Travel Lanes or Reciprocal Green Lanes).

Gov.sg is on Telegram! Click here to follow us.

Budget 2021 COVID-19 Resilience Package
Charting a path amid uncertain waters