Press Release 19 Nov 2013


 15 designers and designs received Singapore’s top design accolade – President’s Design Award 2013 

   President Tony Tan Keng Yam, patron of the President’s Design Award, presented the prestigious design award to six ‘Designer of the Year’ and nine ‘Design of the Year’ recipients at the award ceremony held on 3 December 2013 at the Istana.

2  In its eighth year, the President’s Design Award is Singapore’s highest honour accorded to designers and design projects. It recognises the achievements and contributions of Singapore designers who are making a difference to the lives of Singaporeans and that of the larger global community. This year, a total of 131 nominations were received for both the ‘Designer of the Year’ and ‘Design of the Year’ categories.

3  “The nation’s top design honour went to 15 recipients for their exceptional role in contributing to Singaporean society, as well as to the world at large. The six ‘Designers of the Year’ are not only role models for the next generation of designers, they believe passionately in nurturing and encouraging them to push the boundaries of design. Each of the nine ‘Designs of the Year’ represent the best in class in innovation and forward-thinking and most of all, in improving people’s quality of life. From an iconic garden of national importance, to an exhibition with a message close to our hearts, to humble, everyday products, these designs have transformed the social, economic and physical landscape and enriched people’s lives,” said Mr Robert Tomlin, Chairman, President’s Design Award 2013 Steering Committee and Chairman, DesignSingapore Council.

4  Mr Ng Lang, Chief Executive Officer, Urban Redevelopment Authority said: “As a young nation, we are making our mark in the global design arena. We see this in our architects and designers who are developing a distinctively Singapore signature. These architects and designers are challenging norms, pushing boundaries and experimenting with fusing aesthetically-pleasing designs with practical sustainability outcomes. We hope they will be role models to young architects and designers, showing that it’s possible to dream big dreams and make them come true.”

5  “The President’s Design Award is our salute to the achievements of design practitioners, whose work enhance the lives of Singaporeans, grow the economy and reinforce Singapore’s position as the global city for design. This year’s PDA coincides with a milestone of the design sector - the completion of the National Design Centre. Setting up this nexus for innovation and learning signifies the Government’s commitment in supporting and promoting Singapore designers and designs to better serve the community and businesses. The DesignSingapore Council encourages PDA recipients to continue their remarkable work to champion quality design and be an inspiration to younger designers,” said Mr Jeffrey Ho, Executive Director, DesignSingapore Council.

6  Administered by the DesignSingapore Council of the Ministry of Communications and Information, and the Urban Redevelopment Authority, the award is presented in two categories – ‘Designer of the Year’ and ‘Design of the Year’. Six individuals and nine designs have been conferred the award this year.

7  The six ‘Designer of the Year’ recipients are:

a. Patrick Chia
Director, Squeeze Design;
Director, Design Incubation Centre; and
Creative Director, d.lab

b. Richard K F Ho
RichardHO Architects

c. Alfie Leong
The Little Voice Pte Ltd

d. Pann Lim
Creative Officer
Kinetic Design and Advertising Pte Ltd

e. Harijanto Setiawan
Boenga Pte Ltd

f. Yip Yuen Hong
ip:li Architects

8  The nine ‘Design of the Year’ recipients are:

a. Being Together: Family & Portraits – Photographing with John Clang
Kingsmen Exhibits Pte Ltd
Brett Cameron
Thomas Morris

In collaboration with
Clang Photography
John Clang

The National Museum of Singapore
Szan Tan

b. Dell Inspiron 23: All-In-One PC
Dell Global B.V. (Singapore Branch)
Experience Design Group
Chan Wai Lim
Yong Khang Chian
James Hallar

c. Gardens by the Bay (Bay South Garden)
Gardens by the Bay
Dr Kiat W. Tan
Peggy Chong
Kenneth Er (and Team)

d. Initial ‘Signature’ Range
Orcadesign Consultants
Jeremy Sun Ting Kung
Michael Toh Chong Nam
Ryan Toh Kian Seng
Da Ze Lee
Kwek Chin Leong

In collaboration with
Greaves Best Design
Michael Best

e. Lucky Shophouse
CHANG Architects
Chang Yong Ter

f. PARKROYAL on Pickering
WOHA Architects Pte Ltd

g. Satay by the Bay
Linghao Architects
Ling Hao

Design Collaborators
Tan Kok Meng
Satoko Saeki

h. Singapore Icons
Edwin Low Chee Siong

In collaboration with
James Teo Chye Koon

Relay Room
De Winne Mark Yehan

Quiet Studio
Fion Lum Pui Mun

Melvin Ong Yit Leong

Chang Shian Wei

i. Snapware Eco Flip
World Kitchen (Asia Pacific) Pte Ltd

Lee Eng Leong
Lin Shini
Park Eunsung

9  Additional information on the 15 recipients of the award and the jury’s citation of their works are included in Annex A. A panel of Singapore and international expert jurors across different design disciplines convened in Singapore to evaluate the President’s Design Award submissions. The list of the jury members can be found in Annex B.

10  The exhibition of the President’s Design Award 2013 will be held at the National Design Centre from 5 December 2013 to 22 January 2014, and 3 March to 16 March 2014. The exhibition will also travel to the URA Centre from 24 January to 27 February 2014. More details about these exhibitions can be found in Annex C.