Vaccination-differentiated border measures will be introduced for travellers from counties/regions that have controlled the pandemic well and vaccinated large parts of their population.

Countries/ regions will be classified into 4 categories with differentiated border measures, based on a traveller’s 21-day travel history prior to their entry into Singapore. If the traveller visits or transits through countries/ regions in different categories, the strictest set of requirements among those countries/ regions will apply.


Categories for countries/regions

The latest classifications and associated testing requirements for each of the 4 categories, can be found on the SafeTravel website.  These changes will be effective from 23 September 2021.

Category 1

Travellers from countries/regions in this category can enter Singapore without having to serve a Stay-Home Notice (SHN). They will have to undergo an On-Arrival COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test,

If the test is negative, they will be allowed to go about their activities.

  • Hong Kong
  • Macao
  • Mainland China
  • Taiwan
Category 2

Travellers will be required to undergo a 7-day SHN, which can be served at their accommodation of choice.

They may serve their SHN at their place of residence, if conditions are suitable.

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • New Zealand
  • Poland
  • The Republic of Korea
  • Saudi Arabia
Category 3

Unvaccinated travellers in this category will be required to undergo a 14-day SHN at dedicated SHN facilities.

Travellers who are fully vaccinated may apply to opt out of dedicated SHN facilities and serve their 14-day SHN at a suitable accommodation of their choice, if they:

  1. Remained in the Category 3 countries in the last consecutive 21 days prior to arrival
  2. Occupying their accommodation alone, or with vaccinated household members serving SHN with the same travel history and duration of SHN.
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Finland
  • France
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
Category 4  Travellers from all other countries/ regions (except Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, where entry is currently not allowed) will be required to undergo a 14-day SHN at dedicated facilities.

Starting Vaccinated Travel Lanes

To facilitate fully vaccinated individuals travelling into Singapore under reduced border measures, a Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) will be introduced. Pilot VTL arrangements will begin with Brunei and Germany.

Instead of SHN, vaccinated travellers will undergo:

  • A pre-departure PCR test within 48h of their departure to Singapore
  • An on-arrival PCR test
  • 2 additional PCR tests on Days 3 and 7 of their stay (if they have not left Singapore yet).

The number of VTL travellers will be limited by available flights dedicated to the scheme. VTL travellers must also travel on non-stop flights to Singapore.

Short-term visitors and Long-Term Pass Holders
  • Apply for a Vaccinated Travel Pass (VTP) between 7 and 30 days before their intended date of entry into Singapore.
  • Applications for the VTP will start from 1 Sep 2021.
Returning Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents who are vaccinated Automatically qualify for travel under the VTL and do not need to apply for the VTP. 

Recognising Overseas Vaccinations with WHO EUL Vaccines for Vaccination-Differentiated Safe Management Measures

From 21st August, a tamper-proof vaccination sticker will be attached onto passports of newly arrived travellers who were fully vaccinated overseas with a WHO-Emergency Use Listing (EUL) vaccine, and who can provide a valid, English-language vaccination certificate. These travellers will be eligible for vaccination-differentiated safe management measures if they produce their passport with the sticker affixed.


To obtain this sticker, travellers need to produce their vaccination certificates to Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers at the immigration checkpoints upon arrival.


By September, existing IT systems will be enhanced to allow travellers’ vaccination status to be recognised by the SafeEntry Biz App through their TraceTogether apps/tokens.


Resumption of entry approvals for work pass holders


From 10 August 2021, entry approvals for work pass holders and their dependents with travel history to higher risk countries/ regions will resume. Those eligible must be fully vaccinated before arrival in Singapore and will be subject to prevailing health protocols in Singapore.


For more information, please refer to MOH’s press release.

1An individual is considered fully vaccinated two weeks after he or she has received the full regimen of Pfizer-BioNTech/ Comirnaty, Moderna or other WHO EUL vaccines.

2Only Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents with travel history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are allowed entry into Singapore.

3These include Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents, Long-Term Pass Holders (LTPH) and Short-Term Visit Pass holders from all countries/regions (i.e. Category I, II, III, IV). is on Telegram! Click here to follow us.

Updates to Singapores COVID-19 measures from 19 August 2021
Watch out for misinformation about mRNA and inactivated virus COVID-19 vaccines