What do the different DORSCON levels mean
What do the different DORSCON levels mean
The colours describe the current disease outbreak situation and what needs to be done
min read Published on 06 Feb 2020

When there is an outbreak resulting in the spread of an infectious disease worldwide, Singapore puts in place prevention and response plans.

As part of this plan, the ‘Disease Outbreak Response System Condition’ (DORSCON) is a colour-coded framework that shows the current disease situation. The framework provides us with general guidelines on what needs to be done to prevent and reduce the impact of infections.

DORSCON takes into account:

  • The current disease situation overseas
  • How transmissible the disease is
  • How likely it is to arrive in Singapore
  • What impact it may have on Singapore’s community

There are 4 statuses – Green, Yellow, Orange and Red, depending on the severity and spread of the disease. For each status, it details the impact on the community, such as the measures to be taken in daily life (e.g. temperature screening, border measures), and advice to the public (e.g to look out for travel advisories).

During the SARS experience in Singapore, the status was Orange, meaning the disease was severe and spread easily, but still contained.

You can keep updated on the DORSCON status for COVID-19 (coronavirus disease 2019) on the MOH website.